Fun, Amazing, Etc.

This is the official blog of indie author / adventure writer Andy R. Bunch, author of the fantasy book, "Suffering Rancor." As always, I'll post funny or amazing things I find in my travels or from poking around online. This is a great place to kick back and relax a bit. You may note that I’m not too clean or too dirty. For more information on my book, go to Here are links to first two books and

Monday, December 9, 2013

For fans of "Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead"

If you don't get and read Joe's newsletter you need to. This is chalk full of good stuff like this.

G’Day Holiday-Shopping Rebooters,

The one thing I reckon we all have in common this time of year isstress. What do I fix for dinner that everyone will love? What should I give my parents? My friends? How am I going to afford this? Do I have enough time to bake 200 cookies?

The anxiety builds and builds until you find yourself turning to old comforts – sugar, alcohol, carbs – to cope. Don’t let that happen this year. I asked our Reboot experts to share their best tips for coping with the stress of the holiday season:

Dr. Adrian Rawlinson, a Sports Medicine Doctor says:

1.) Get high on exercise.
Exercise reduces levels of the body’s stress hormones, such as adrenaline and cortisol, helping you achieve that “runner’s high”. It also stimulates the production of endorphins, the body’s natural painkillers and mood elevator that provide stimulation and calm, to counter depression and dissipate stress.

2.) Stay on track.
As you lose weight and get closer to your ideal goal through diet and exercise, your strength and endurance increase and your self-image improves which helps to give you a sense of pride and self-confidence that help you succeed in many tasks both at work and at home (and holiday shopping).

Read more of Adrian’s exercise tips.

Stacy Kennedy, an Integrative Nutritionist/Dietician says:

3.) Hydrate with herbs.
Choose a calming herbal tea over cappuccino. Excessive caffeinecan ramp up heart rate and contribute to feeling stressed and jittery. Herbal tea like ginger and lemon or chamomile help warm you up and keep you hydrated and may exert calming effects.

4.) Go for greens.
Magnesium rich foods like kale, swiss chard, collards and mustard greens can all help to regulate the stress hormone, cortisol. Try our Green Citrus JuiceCranberry Citrus Juice or Cranberry n Collards Salad, and of course Joe’s Mean Green.

Read more of Stacy’s nutrition tips.

Dr. Carrie Diulus, a Spinal Surgeon says:

5.) Give yourself the gift of health.
Keeping healthy habits throughout the holidays not only helps you cope better with stress, it leaves you feeling better into the New Year. Make the commitment to yourself this year to keep up the healthy habits you have developed or start some new ones. There is no better gift you can give yourself.

6.) Don’t break your budget.
The holidays can be expensive; meals, presents, new clothes, etc. and it all can add up fast. Set realistic boundaries for yourself. Get creative to cut costs if you need to. Homemade gifts, like thisHomemade Maple Cinnamon Chia Almond Butter, can be more meaningful than expensive store bought purchases.

Read more of Carrie’s gift-giving tips.

Dr. Russell Kennedy, a Wellness Psychologist says:

7.) Let it out and vent.
We all need someone to hear us out when we are stressed. Reaching out to a close friend or family member to ‘just hear’ you out can help you deal with your stress levels. The process of formulating an explanation of your stress, delivering it to someone else, and having that formulation received by another is a great way to calibrate your emotions around your stress.

8.) Take a mindful moment.
Meditation trains the mind in a way that can help quiet your inner experience. With just a few minutes of diaphragmatic breathing a day, one can receive some necessary respite from your environmental stressors. Over time, a meditation practice can have profound positive effects on your health.

Read more of Russell’s behavioral tips.

Juice on stress-free Rebooters!

Joe and the Reboot Team

No comments: